Hello world!

March 24, 2010

My goal with this blog is to recount the bizarre, funny and even mundane aspects of living abroad. I am a “trailing spouse” as they say in the expatriate community – the person who “tags along” when their spouse is transferred to a foreign country. We also have two “trailing children” and “trailing pets” which makes this journey even more interesting. My stories may not be unique to those who are in the same situation; some may not differ from those who choose to stay closer to their birthplace. This is simply a way for me to express myself and capture the wonderful and not-so-wonderful things about relocating to a foreign country.

While at times I may compare or contrast living abroad to life in the USA, this is not meant to be negative, critical or judgmental of either my birth country or my host country. If anything, nearly five years of living abroad has taught me that every culture is unique and has its own strengths and weaknesses. Different isn’t necessarily good or bad – it is just different.

Also, while at times I may recount our travels, this is not meant to be a travel blog. Others are more adept at that. It is also not a “parenting” blog. There are many forums for each country which are more suitable for those seeking advice on day-to-day living. This is a place where I will attempt to weave my experiences into an interesting tale. At times I may talk about family related situations, but my aim is to have this be an outlet for me, not a place to air my family’s dirty laundry!

In the end, I would like this blog to be a lens into what it is like living in a foreign land. No more, no less. I hope you enjoy it.

One Response to “Hello world!”

  1. Alma said

    Beautiful job. Looking forward to more.

Leave a Reply

